Australian General Election Results Finalised in Most Seats

The Australian Electoral Commission has finalised the results in 92 lower house seats, with more to be declared in coming days.

The election results in more than half of the seats in the House of Representatives have now been finalised.

On Thursday afternoon, the Australian Electoral Commission had formally declared 92 out of 151 seats.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison is set to govern with 77 seats to Labor’s 68, with six MPs on the crossbench.

Also on Thursday, the AEC finalised the winners of the two Senate seats in the Northern Territory.

They are Labor’s Malarndirri McCarthy and the Country Liberals’ Sam McMahon.

More Senate results are expected to be formally declared in coming days.

The 76-seat upper house to start on July 1 is likely to comprise 35 coalition, 26 Labor, nine Greens, two One Nation, two Centre Alliance, Cory Bernardi for the Australian Conservatives Party, and Jacqui Lambie from Tasmania.

By Paul Osborne

Go to Source
Author: AAP